find rare coins

Seated liberty quarters of the United States minted from 1838 to 1891.

Skip to content

Seated Liberty Quarters

Seated Liberty quarters

The Seated Liberty Quarter was introduced by the United States Mint in 1838, replacing the previous Capped Bust design. The new design featured Lady Liberty sitting on a rock, holding a shield with one hand and a staff with a liberty cap in the other. The reverse side featured an eagle with outstretched wings, holding arrows and an olive branch.

The Seated Liberty design underwent several modifications over the years, including changes to the size and positioning of the stars on the obverse and the addition of the motto “In God We Trust” on the reverse in 1866. In 1873, the arrows and olive branch were removed from the reverse design.

The Seated Liberty Quarter was minted at various locations across the United States, including Philadelphia, New Orleans, San Francisco, and Carson City. It remained in circulation until 1891, when it was replaced by the Barber Quarter.