Home » Seated Liberty Dollars

Seated Liberty Dollars

United States Seated Liberty Dollar Coins

The Seated Liberty dollar was designed by the Mint’s Chief Engraver Christian Gobrecht, and was minted from 1840 through 1873. They originally were only minted in Philadelphia, but New Orleans began to mint them in 1846. In 1866 the motto “In God We Trust” was added to the coins. It is thought that many of these coins were shipped to China as payment for goods, so the minting of the Seated Liberty dollar was halted in 1873.